Head and Lacey Named NLISD Teachers of the Year

Cody Head    NLISD Secondary Teacher of the Year

Cody Head

NLISD Secondary Teacher of the Year

Kim Lacey    NLISD Elementary Teacher of the Year

Kim Lacey

NLISD Elementary Teacher of the Year

North Lamar ISD school board members helped serve drinks and dessert to administrators, teachers, staff, and spouses at a banquetMonday night to honor those who make a difference to students and co-workers throughout the year.

Superintendent John McCullough recognized employees for their years of service to the district, honored those retiring, and presented special awards to those who have gone above and beyond assisting students and colleagues. Amy Stephens, who did not seek reelection to the school board, was recognized for serving six years on the board.

With the help of last year’s teachers of the year, Stephen Smallwood and Alexandria Walters, the 2015 North Lamar recipients were named.  Cody Head, North Lamar High School theatre arts teacher, was named Secondary Teacher of the Year while Kim Lacey, Bailey Intermediate fifth grade language arts teacher, was named Elementary Teacher of the Year. Nominees from all six campuses spoke about what teaching has meant to them.  Others representing their campuses and who were interviewed for the district’s high honors were LaDonna Davis at Stone Middle School, Christie Skidmore at Aaron Parker Elementary, Suzanne Culbertson at Everett Elementary, and Yolanda Lasenbby at Higgins Elementary.

Recipients of the district’s special awards were: Gloria Ford at Stone for Auxiliary of the Year; Rebecca Liesman at Higgins for Support Staff of the Year;Debra Gifford at Everett for Paraprofessional of the Year; and Dandria Clayton at Bailey for Regular Educator of the Year.

Honored and receiving pins for their years of service were: 35 years – Lesa Bulls, Dennis Hodgkiss, Lynnette Johnson, Shelley McDowell, Judy Weatherford, and Jeri Wooldridge; 30 years – Billy Copeland, Anna Linch, Robbie Ramsey, and Penny Stutsman; 25 years – Leslie Ewell, Kristi Hodgkiss, Carey Malone, and Della O’Neal; 20 years – Tammie Bates, Greg Gifford, Karen Leonard, Glenda Parson, DiAnne Pruett, Claudia Pursifull, Molly Saffle, Missy Starnes, and Pam Tuttle.

Fifteen year pins were given to Amanda Akard, Irene Atkins, Shannon Collard, Jimmy Fendley, Jodie Ingram, Celina Johns, Trudy Kelley, Barbara McFarland, Karon Sparks, and Terry Steelman. Receiving 10 year pins were Debbie Allred, Helen Angel, Jan Bell, Staci Christian, Amber Clark, Kenda Felker, Kyran Hamner, Frankie Jarrell, Phyllis King, Donna McGee, Cherie Murdock, Janie Sharrock, Lauren Smith, Carla Spann, and Rebecca Whitney.

Others who received their 5 year pins were Henry Blackmon, Jana Bolton, Daron Dagenhart, Casidy Figueroa, Kristi Garner, Cody Head, Diana McGregor, Rachel Moody,

Cortnee Nottingham, Georjeana Nutt, Jason Smith, Lena Spencer, Amy Strickland, and Justine Wideman.

North Lamar Athletes Awarded Scholarships

Color Run Exceeds Expectations